Compiling for WindowsCE 2.0 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I'm a newbie at compiling things. But recently I've got a nice old palmtop still wonderfully working, a Casio cassiopeia a-20, with WindowsCE 2.0. I'd like to compile NetHack (long travels are boring) from sources for Windows CE 2.0, is Visual Studio a good choice to do so? If yes, how i can do that?

I'm currently on a Samsung RF711 running Windows 7.

Thanks in advance!

• Moved by Alexander Sun Monday, October 24, 2011 6:12 AM smart device issue (From:Visual Studio Setup and Installation)
    • Moved by Jesse Jiang Tuesday, November 1, 2011 6:09 AM (From:Visual Studio Smart Device Development – Visual Basic and C# Projects)
    Friday, October 21, 2011 1:18 PM

Answers

• As VS 6 is out of support, I suggest you look for third party venues where older versions are discussed.

Here's one suggestion:

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/vbgeneral/thread/6a0719fe-14af-47f7-9f51-a8ea2b9c8d6b

Saturday, October 22, 2011 5:32 PM
  • Hi Awambawamb,

Welcome to the MSDN forum.

I am sorry that this queue is about Visual Studio Setup and Installation. Your problem is related to smart device, so I will move your thread to smart device forum for better support.

Sorry for any inconvenience.

Best Regards,

Alexander Sun [MSFT]
    MSDN Community Support | Feedback to us
    Get or Request Code Sample from Microsoft
    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.

Monday, October 24, 2011 6:10 AM
  • I believe this thread may still be in the wrong forum. You probably need the C++ forum under smart devices. In short, to develop native C++ code for Windows CE 2.0 you ideally need the SDK from your device manufacturer. Typically you would download this SDK install it, then select it in visual studio to compile native code for your device and reference the proper header files.