none
auto delete of backups RRS feed

  • Question

  • I have set my schedule to only keep 1 day, 1 week and 1 months worth of backups in my Windows Home Server, but it keeps ALL of them no matter what I do. I have tried changing it to 2,2,2 or the default of 3,3,3 but no matter what, ALL are kept. I currently have over 4 months of backups that just will not delete. I did go thru and delete everything one time and just started over, there is a folder you can delete the contents of and all backups will be gone. I have 1.3 TB of storage space with over 500GB free. I only have 6 pc's in the system right now but can't add anymore due to the backups not deleting. I have gone thru and manually checked the backups, for each pc, I want to delete but even after the Sunday cleanup, nothing changes!! I have even tried manually doing a disk cleanup, nothing changes except a lot of time is wasted. The task bar comes up and about 10% thru it says can't finish the operation, that is after over 30 hours of running. I have a dual core pc with 2 gig of ram.

    If I could just get the system to delete the older backups, my files rarely change that much form month to month, I could add in the rest of my systems, up to the max of 10.
    Thank for any help.
    mikey159
    Saturday, February 14, 2009 1:35 PM

Answers

  • Yes I did for over a week

    If you reinstalled WHS and did not install any add-ins or apps on the server afterwards and it still didn't run Backup Cleanup on Sunday, you should file a bug report on Connect.

    I shut everything down and just let the Server run by itself. No deletion of old files, no purging, no nothing. Yes I made sure it was over a Sunday, no change! Now to be honest I would never run the Server fulltime like that. It is a pc and for me pc's either do more than just sit there and consume electricity or they get shut off. My electric bill is over $400.00 a month here at home now, for a pc to just there and do nothing 99% of the time, is not realistic!

    Saturday, April 25, 2009 3:26 PM
    Moderator

All replies

  • What's your hardware like? Could you have some unsupported or flaky drivers? What have you installed on your server? Any add-ins? Software installed using Remote Desktop or physically connected console? Any other modifications made outside the WHS console? Have you submitted a bug for this issue on Connect, including logs collected using the WHS Toolkit?

    I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    Saturday, February 14, 2009 2:29 PM
    Moderator
  • Hi,
    please logon locally to your home server with user name Administrator and the console password and check the event log in Control Panel/Administrative Tools for possible related errors around the time frame of the attempted cleanup.
    Best greetings from Germany
    Olaf
    Sunday, February 15, 2009 6:40 AM
    Moderator
  • No errors in the log at all. Just a long list of backup notices
    Sunday, February 15, 2009 2:03 PM
  • I have an Intel dual core 2.66ghz machine with 2 gig of ram. It has 3 hard drives, a 160gb for the OS and then a 1tb and a 300gb drive for backups. I built it myself and have no errors beyond this. I do run Boinc, a Distributed Computing project manager, I also run ClamWin for my anti-virus, it is free. I did install the Windows Home Server Toolkit, but have not used it or see any benefit in it. I also run RAdmin, a remote Admin program that lets me sit at one computer and mange other computers from it. Basically the system just sits there and crunchs data thru Boinc and backups some of my pc's. I did submit a bug report a couple of years ago but got nothing in return. This is NOT a new problem for me, it has been ongoing since the early Beta days. I have not made any other mods, that I can remember, and in fact re-installed from scratch this past November and the problems continue! I do have some files on the server besides the backup files, like in the Public, Music folders etc but they are not a problem. Every once in a while it comes up with half a dozen or so it ask if I want to report some errors to MS and I always says yes. They are generic errors and at the end of all the reporting it pops open a webpage asking me to report the error to HP. This is NOT an HP computer and I bought the software, brand new, off of Amazon so it is not HP either.
    I do have the machine to automatically do all updates.
    Sunday, February 15, 2009 2:16 PM
  • mikey159c said:

    I have an Intel dual core 2.66ghz machine with 2 gig of ram. It has 3 hard drives, a 160gb for the OS and then a 1tb and a 300gb drive for backups.
     

    What do you mean by this?  Are you saying you have both the 1 TB drive and the 300 GB drive connected to the server strictly for backing up the network shares?

    mikey159c said:

    I built it myself and have no errors beyond this. I do run Boinc, a Distributed Computing project manager, I also run ClamWin for my anti-virus, it is free.
     

    Either of those apps could be your problem.  Installing any software through the server desktop (or just logging into the server desktop) is unsupported.

    mikey159c said:

    I did install the Windows Home Server Toolkit, but have not used it or see any benefit in it. I also run RAdmin, a remote Admin program that lets me sit at one computer and mange other computers from it. Basically the system just sits there and crunchs data thru Boinc and backups some of my pc's. I did submit a bug report a couple of years ago but got nothing in return. This is NOT a new problem for me, it has been ongoing since the early Beta days. I have not made any other mods, that I can remember, and in fact re-installed from scratch this past November and the problems continue!
     

    When you did the Server Reinstallation, did you try running WHS for a while before adding any software?

    mikey159c said:

    I do have some files on the server besides the backup files, like in the Public, Music folders etc but they are not a problem. Every once in a while it comes up with half a dozen or so it ask if I want to report some errors to MS and I always says yes. They are generic errors and at the end of all the reporting it pops open a webpage asking me to report the error to HP. This is NOT an HP computer and I bought the software, brand new, off of Amazon so it is not HP either.
    I do have the machine to automatically do all updates.



    Sunday, February 15, 2009 5:15 PM
    Moderator
  • Please note, that installing additional programs on the server, wich are not provided as Add-Ins, is unsupported and can lead to issues, which could end in a disaster for the data stored on the server.
    I.e. a virus scanner, which is not aware of the special features and functions Windows Home Server has and uses, may be a reason for a behavior like which you experience.
    I would recommend a server reinstall, applying all updates and test again without any additional software.
    Besides that you can also check the log files by clicking Start/Run and typing %qlogs%.
    This will open the proper folder for you, in which the txt file logs are listed.
    Best greetings from Germany
    Olaf
    Sunday, February 15, 2009 5:16 PM
    Moderator
  • kariya21 said:

    mikey159c said:

    I have an Intel dual core 2.66ghz machine with 2 gig of ram. It has 3 hard drives, a 160gb for the OS and then a 1tb and a 300gb drive for backups.
     

    What do you mean by this?  Are you saying you have both the 1 TB drive and the 300 GB drive connected to the server strictly for backing up the network shares?

    Yes, I have 3 drives total, one for the OS and 2 storage drives. All were isntalled properly and are working fine.

    mikey159c said:

    I built it myself and have no errors beyond this. I do run Boinc, a Distributed Computing project manager, I also run ClamWin for my anti-virus, it is free.
     

    Either of those apps could be your problem.  Installing any software through the server desktop (or just logging into the server desktop) is unsupported.

    So you think it is software related? ClamWin is an anti-virus for servers, and desktops. Boinc is something running on millions of pc's worldwide. I have had it running on all of my pc's since it first came out and have had very few problems.

    mikey159c said:

    I did install the Windows Home Server Toolkit, but have not used it or see any benefit in it. I also run RAdmin, a remote Admin program that lets me sit at one computer and mange other computers from it. Basically the system just sits there and crunchs data thru Boinc and backups some of my pc's. I did submit a bug report a couple of years ago but got nothing in return. This is NOT a new problem for me, it has been ongoing since the early Beta days. I have not made any other mods, that I can remember, and in fact re-installed from scratch this past November and the problems continue!
     

    When you did the Server Reinstallation, did you try running WHS for a while before adding any software?

    Yes I did and it still did not delete.

    mikey159c said:

    I do have some files on the server besides the backup files, like in the Public, Music folders etc but they are not a problem. Every once in a while it comes up with half a dozen or so it ask if I want to report some errors to MS and I always says yes. They are generic errors and at the end of all the reporting it pops open a webpage asking me to report the error to HP. This is NOT an HP computer and I bought the software, brand new, off of Amazon so it is not HP either.
    I do have the machine to automatically do all updates.





    Monday, February 16, 2009 4:21 PM
  • Olaf Engelke said:

    Please note, that installing additional programs on the server, wich are not provided as Add-Ins, is unsupported and can lead to issues, which could end in a disaster for the data stored on the server.
    I.e. a virus scanner, which is not aware of the special features and functions Windows Home Server has and uses, may be a reason for a behavior like which you experience.
    I would recommend a server reinstall, applying all updates and test again without any additional software.
    Besides that you can also check the log files by clicking Start/Run and typing %qlogs%.
    This will open the proper folder for you, in which the txt file logs are listed.
    Best greetings from Germany
    Olaf



    WhooBoy are there some logs with stuff in them!! Lots of "backup*.log files, LOTS of DEUtil*.log files. I don't understand much in any of them. There are some errors in some of them but I have no clue what any of those error codes mean.
    Monday, February 16, 2009 4:49 PM
  • Hi,
    you could also try to delete the entire backup database and redo backups from the scratch. It's often more simple than long troubleshooting, especially if the clients are still there and functioning well.
    To do so, logon locally to your home server.
    Open a command prompt and type the following commands:
    net stop pdl
    net stop whsbackup
    del d:\folders\{00008086-058D-4C89-AB57-A7F909A47AB4}

    Check, if all files are gone from d:\folders\{00008086-058D-4C89-AB57-A7F909A47AB4}.

    If this succeeded reboot the server or start the two services stopped in the beginning and start over with the backups.

    Best greetings from Germany
    Olaf
    Monday, February 16, 2009 6:59 PM
    Moderator
  • I did that in December but I now have backups from that day that will NOT delete!!! Not manually, thru me checking the box to delete at the next Sunday cleanup, NOR on its own thru the settings to only keep 1 daily, 1 weekly and 1 monthly backup. That is why I started this thread. My son is away at college so I cannot do it right now, but when he comes home again I will start over, AGAIN!!! I am actively looking for another solution and will dump WHS if I can't fix this. I am down about 200 meg of drive space just since this thread started!! My wife takes TONS of pictures and then manipulates them with Photoshop, so their are lots of changed files.
    Thursday, February 19, 2009 3:52 PM
  • mikey159c said:

    I am down about 200 meg of drive space just since this thread started!! My wife takes TONS of pictures and then manipulates them with Photoshop, so their are lots of changed files.


    so you could eventually put the pictures on a WHS share and modify them there?
    Best greetings from Germany
    Olaf
    Thursday, February 19, 2009 8:16 PM
    Moderator
  • Olaf Engelke said:

    mikey159c said:

    I am down about 200 meg of drive space just since this thread started!! My wife takes TONS of pictures and then manipulates them with Photoshop, so their are lots of changed files.


    so you could eventually put the pictures on a WHS share and modify them there?
    Best greetings from Germany
    Olaf



    Sure but if I can't find the solution to the deletion of my backups what is the point of having the WHS software in the first place? I could just use something like SyncToy and be done with it. I could turn off all backups and updates I guess since I have the license and just use it as a Server and nothing else.
    Friday, February 20, 2009 3:27 PM
  • Also I don't see the point since the WHS can't back up itself. One copy of a file does not constitute a backup, even if it is on a Server. That is the whole point of the WHS, so I, and my wife, could each do our own thing on our own computers and the WHS would just backup everything in the background. It does all this just fine, it just won't delete or respond to my settings for deletion of the older backups. I do NOT need 6 months of backups! I do NOT need 1 month of backups, I just need a good backup about once a week and everything will be fine. Maybe keeping one or even two weekly backups but anything else is unnecessary for me. I do not have files that I cannot live without, if my wife loses a picture, oh well, life goes on! But the whole idea of the WHS is so that I can say 'here it is'. I CAN do that, but I don't need to say 'here it is' 10,000 times!!!!
    Tuesday, February 24, 2009 1:42 PM
  • mikey159c said:

    Also I don't see the point since the WHS can't back up itself. One copy of a file does not constitute a backup, even if it is on a Server. That is the whole point of the WHS, so I, and my wife, could each do our own thing on our own computers and the WHS would just backup everything in the background. It does all this just fine, it just won't delete or respond to my settings for deletion of the older backups. I do NOT need 6 months of backups! I do NOT need 1 month of backups, I just need a good backup about once a week and everything will be fine. Maybe keeping one or even two weekly backups but anything else is unnecessary for me. I do not have files that I cannot live without, if my wife loses a picture, oh well, life goes on! But the whole idea of the WHS is so that I can say 'here it is'. I CAN do that, but I don't need to say 'here it is' 10,000 times!!!!


    I still think it has to due with the apps you installed.  Did you try a Server Reintallation without adding any add-ins/apps afterward?
    Wednesday, February 25, 2009 5:00 AM
    Moderator
  • I would have to recommend against using ClamWin on your server. It doesn't have a real-time protection engine, so you don't have the "on access" scanning capabilities (and issues) of some other AV products, but if it's not designed for use on WHS (and it's not) it has the potential to cause problems. 
    I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    Wednesday, February 25, 2009 2:53 PM
    Moderator
  • kariya21 said:

    mikey159c said:

    Also I don't see the point since the WHS can't back up itself. One copy of a file does not constitute a backup, even if it is on a Server. That is the whole point of the WHS, so I, and my wife, could each do our own thing on our own computers and the WHS would just backup everything in the background. It does all this just fine, it just won't delete or respond to my settings for deletion of the older backups. I do NOT need 6 months of backups! I do NOT need 1 month of backups, I just need a good backup about once a week and everything will be fine. Maybe keeping one or even two weekly backups but anything else is unnecessary for me. I do not have files that I cannot live without, if my wife loses a picture, oh well, life goes on! But the whole idea of the WHS is so that I can say 'here it is'. I CAN do that, but I don't need to say 'here it is' 10,000 times!!!!


    I still think it has to due with the apps you installed.  Did you try a Server Reintallation without adding any add-ins/apps afterward?



    No because that is not how I am going to run this machine. I did do a total reinstallation but installed my default apps immediately after it came up. I can uninstall ClamWin and find a usable anti-virus bur Boinc will be on all my machines probably until I die. If the WHS Team can't make their software work with what I want to use, I will not be a WHS user. I have 16 machines here at home all running Boinc. All but a few can be imaged after they are up and running and do not need to be backed up periodically. A few though, my machine, my wifes, my laptop and my sons, now guests, computers do need backing up periodically. I enjoy helping to find a cure for Malaria, doing some Scientific research, etc., all this is done thru the Boinc software. Basically it runs using 100% of the computers spare cpu cycles, releasing the cycles when the pc wants them back. Yes it works fine on a Win 2003 Server, I had one and it worked just fine. I switched to the WHS Server because it is automated! I am not a Server guy so never got backups working under the Server alone. I have a copy of Ubuntu Server that does have pc backup built into it. I am about ready to give up on the WHS software for backups. If I told you that on your pc something you do had to go because the software was incompatable and there were no other options, what would you do? Stop doing what you are doing? Not likely. I am in the same boat, it either works or I move on. There are MANY, MANY of us that have this exact same problem, I cannot believe it is a non-fixable software problem.
    Thanks for letting me vent a little, I am NOT mad at you, just my darned WHS Serve that won't do its won housekeeping as advertised!!

    Here is a Thread on a whole different website with people with the exact same problem:
    http://forum.wegotserved.com/index.php?showtopic=3141
    Saturday, February 28, 2009 6:13 PM
  • Ken Warren said:

    I would have to recommend against using ClamWin on your server. It doesn't have a real-time protection engine, so you don't have the "on access" scanning capabilities (and issues) of some other AV products, but if it's not designed for use on WHS (and it's not) it has the potential to cause problems. 


    I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)



    I will remove it today, Saturday, and see if that fixes it during tomorrows clean-up, I will let you know. I will uninstall it, reboot the Server and then leave it alone.
    Saturday, February 28, 2009 6:15 PM
  • No luck, the same problems still exist and I am now exploring other options. WHS backup does work but NOT the way it is supposed to! I am not a happy camper and am sort of angry I spent money on this thing! Under the current conditions I cannot recommened this pile of junk to anyone! YMMV but mine is not good!
    Friday, April 17, 2009 12:32 PM
  • Mikey, did you ever have a chance to report the issue on Connect and include a cab # referencing collected and submitted logs?
    Friday, April 17, 2009 1:34 PM
    Moderator
  • Mikey, did you ever have a chance to report the issue on Connect and include a cab # referencing collected and submitted logs?

    No I did not, although I have talked to many, many people with the exact same problem.
    Wednesday, April 22, 2009 12:55 PM
  • No I did not, although I have talked to many, many people with the exact same problem.
    Did you ever try running it without the extra (unsupported) software including Boinc (in other words, just a base WHS installation)?
    Thursday, April 23, 2009 12:52 AM
    Moderator
  • No I did not, although I have talked to many, many people with the exact same problem.
    Did you ever try running it without the extra (unsupported) software including Boinc (in other words, just a base WHS installation)?

    Yes I did for over a week, I shut everything down and just let the Server run by itself. No deletion of old files, no purging, no nothing. Yes I made sure it was over a Sunday, no change! Now to be honest I would never run the Server fulltime like that. It is a pc and for me pc's either do more than just sit there and consume electricity or they get shut off. My electric bill is over $400.00 a month here at home now, for a pc to just there and do nothing 99% of the time, is not realistic!
    Saturday, April 25, 2009 2:34 PM
  • Yes I did for over a week

    If you reinstalled WHS and did not install any add-ins or apps on the server afterwards and it still didn't run Backup Cleanup on Sunday, you should file a bug report on Connect.

    I shut everything down and just let the Server run by itself. No deletion of old files, no purging, no nothing. Yes I made sure it was over a Sunday, no change! Now to be honest I would never run the Server fulltime like that. It is a pc and for me pc's either do more than just sit there and consume electricity or they get shut off. My electric bill is over $400.00 a month here at home now, for a pc to just there and do nothing 99% of the time, is not realistic!

    Saturday, April 25, 2009 3:26 PM
    Moderator