Fully factorized approximations RRS feed

• Question

• Dear All,

I'm pretty new to Infer.NET and graphical models in general so excuse me if the question might be trivial or if I got it wrong to start with. In the end what I would like to do is learn a linear-chain CRF for some sort of sequence labeling task given data.

Let's assume I have T outcome variables Y_i, i=1..T and for each Y_i an input variable X_i which I observe. What I am interested in is the MAP assignment of Y given X, so argmax(Y) P(Y|X). From what I understood of Infer.NET so far it makes use of a so-called "fully factorized approximation" which means I can use the inference engine to query each P(Y_i | X_i) and the joint CPD will then be the product of the CPDs of the individual variables. Or I could simply use each individual CPD to chose my MAP assignment for that position and repeat that for the whole sequence. But doesn't that imply that all Y_i's are independent of each other which is exactly what I am trying to prevent in the first place by using a graphical model with edges between adjacent Y_i's? This has caused me some headache so any hint would be appreciated.

Further, in the end I would like to make advantage of the fact that I model my problem as a discriminative model, not generative, meaning that I might want to include rich features where each Y_i not only depends on its X_i, but potentially on all or a large subset of members of X. Is there an explicit way of modeling that in Infer.NET or is it simply a question of not querying P(X), i.e. only asking questions about an unnormalized measure P'(Y|X)? How do I tell Infer.NET that I only would like the unnormalized measure? I hope that makes sense.

Thanks a lot in advance,

Roland

Wednesday, May 2, 2012 12:18 PM

All replies

• Infer.NET only allows inferring the marginal distribution of a single variable at a time and therefore it cannot compute a joint MAP assignment.
    Friday, May 4, 2012 5:04 PM
    Owner