Non Genuine Windows RRS feed

• Question

• After discovering that my copy of Windows XP was not genuine and having had several months of liaising with Trading Standards to see what could be done to prosecute the vendor, what do I do now?

From checking my system information, I seem to have "Microsoft Windows XP Professional - Version 2002 - Service Pack 2.  It's running on an AMD Sempron Processor - 2600+ - 1.60Hz with 192MB of Ram.

The above information is all 'double-dutch' to me and I'm afraid means nothing.  I am a complete novice when it comes to the technical side of things.

Why do I have 'Professional'?  Why not Home Edition.  Do I have to purchase a new, genuine copy of Professional again and not Home?  What's the difference?

I hardly use any of the programs on my computer - simply using it for surfing the web, joining in several forums, emailing, etc. 

If I do purchase 'genuine' windows - professional/home or otherwise, will I be able to install it myself?  In my limited 'knowledge' capacity?  Do I need to buy it here from Microsoft, or should I take my computer to another (hopefully reputable) dealer and pay them to do it?

Any help would be appreciated.

Saturday, April 28, 2007 4:47 PM

Answers

• Maggie,

Now that we can see the full report, here is the rundown:

Right now, your computer has a Volume Licensing edition of XP Pro installed (Line 8), and that installation was done with a now-blocked Volume Licensing Key (VLK) (Line 2).  VLKs are blocked by Microsoft at the request of the original keyholder for such reasons as the key was lost, stolen, compromised, misused, or expired.  Also, MS may have blocked the key if it notices a pattern of misuse, ie, more installations of XP using that key than authorized.