QUESTION: WINDOWS XP Home Edition (" ERROR CODE 0X80040509 ") RRS feed

• Question

• Let me first explain how I got here. I'm no expert but, somehow I repaired my own laptop screen that rip completely from my laptop. It is a HP COMPAQ PRESARIO V2000 which was came integrated with WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION.

When I turned it back on I could not start WINDOWS XP and received this error message \WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM. After many attempts and not being able to understand all the Codes, Programs &, HTML's I purchased a UPGRADED WINDOWS XP OS Disk, which I don't think was an upgraded one but is official (I checked).

I figured since I already have a backup disk from about a year ago done with ONE CARE that I just reinstall WINDOWS XP and reinstall the system back to the way it was before, using the backup disk. Well, it wipe out all Microsoft and info in the laptop and installed a fresh copy of WINDOWS XP to the system, then nothing worked once WINDOWS XP was working. So I purchased a DRIVER INSTALLER & UTILITIES MANAGER. Then, Windows worked and I was able to connect to the internet. I tried to install the back up and it wouldn't load, it said I need ONE CARE to load the info. I thought I was registered with ONE CARE but I'm not. So I had to Install a temp. ONE CARE program and it work to a degree, some info. was lost but a majority was downloaded. Some info. doesn't work because WINDOWS XP wiped out all my WINDOWS OFFICE programs and the disk didn't come loaded with it. I'll buy WINDOWS OFFICE later to fix that.

Now that is what lead up to my current issue, which I'll explain.