OneCare Beta is not up to par RRS feed

• General discussion

•  

Hi guys,

I'm an old school professor that keep up to date in technology.  The new OneCare Beta has new nice features but they need to work first.  As an example: Backups - I have an external dreive for sensitive data, and another external for backup. OneCare Backup doen not allow the backup of the external drive.  Second, it would be nice to display the actual files that are going to be backup (on request).  The option for a new backup set for the same drive does not work, always goes back and just backup the most recent changes intead of a complete backup.  

If you want a software easy to use, to simplified the day to day operations, don't you think that is an overkill to have us calling every where to find a solution for ourself.   We do not get pay and in most cases not even got the sofware free license after all our hard work.   I do not want to discourage anyone, but how many of you had suffered a system crash testing alfa and beta realeases.  I guess that the answer is everybody....right?

Well, I would like to hear your thoughs in the subject.

Sincerely,

jjvarona

Sunday, September 9, 2007 3:28 PM

All replies

• Thanks for using OneCare backup and providing us feedback.

Currently we do not allow external drive backup, however we do hear you and need to be considered in future version.

We want the backup to be very smooth, once set it needs to run automatically and not bother the user. If you want to see the files you can by clicking on Start backup in the OneCare main screen. It first ask you for new full backup or just the changes. once you made your selection it scans and you can see the files by category which are marked for backup.

About the system crash, we do our best to make sure that users machines are not crashed. We are eager to listen to  the users.

Monday, September 10, 2007 10:35 AM
  • Hi Sundar,