locked
SyncToy zeroed out the file - how to recover? RRS feed

  • Question

  • I have a Synchronize action set up. This evening, I accidentally hit Run, instead of Preview, and deleted a very, very important 30GB file. This file was actually a TrueCrypt volume/backup.

    Instead of deleting a file, SyncToy overwrote it to zero bytes, as reported by several undelete/recovery programs. I can find the file using those programs but the size reported is 0 bytes. Needless to say, I cannot mount that recovered file in True Crypt.

    Why did SyncToy zeroed out the file instead of simply deleting it? How can I undelete the 30 GB version of it?



    • Edited by ds.store Friday, June 15, 2012 9:36 PM Grammar
    Friday, June 15, 2012 9:25 PM