Microsoft Money has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience. RRS feed

• Question

• My PC crashed and when reinstalled Money worked fine till an automatic Windows update.  Now I can't do anything in Money (sunset) without this stupid message.  And, it continues to try and update my accounts thus I can't even put anything in manually.  I've been using this for 15 years or so and love it. IBank doesn't come close.  But I guess I'm going to have to learn to use it if I can't figure out how to get Money to work.  I tried restoring my computer to before the update, but it doesn't seem to see the update as a change.   So I'm basically out of luck.  Any similar problems out there??
    Saturday, January 11, 2014 11:04 PM

All replies

• I would try applying the patch described in the first "sticky" in this forum:

http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/d28d6921-1f01-430f-b33e-f5a3ec47077b/money-plus-bug-and-solution-mnyob99dll?forum=money

which replaces the mnyob99.dll file.  If you need help doing this, post back.

Whether this works or not, please post back with your result and what version of Money and Windows you are running.

Bill Becker

Sunday, January 12, 2014 3:17 AM
  • I was able to download it but it wanted to know what program to use to open the .dll  I don't know the answer to that question.  I certainly wish Microsoft had not discontinued this product.  grannyof4
    Sunday, January 26, 2014 12:46 AM
  • >

You don't open the dll file.  It's a replacement for a dll file that you already have.  If you downloaded mnyob99.dll as instructed in the first sticky in this forum, you need to:

- Open Windows Explorer and find the downloaded mnyob99.dll file

- Right-click on it, and select "Copy"

- still using Windows Explorer, locate the folder on your system named Microsoft Money Plus.  It is usually in the C:/Program Files folder.