Imported 110 000 rows into CRM, now I would like to delete them - are there any tools out there? RRS feed

• Question

• This is my first post here and I'm quite new to Microsoft Dynamics CRM.
    I've just tried importing some data into CRM, after the import completed I now want to remove them and do it all over again.

I read about a service called bulk delete but I have a hard time grasping how to use it. From what I read on the web, it seems like bulk delete only helps if I've done the import job via Microsoft import-tool.

Since I've used another tool for migration, my "import jobs" doesn't show under workspace/imports.
    Do any of you know if there's another tool than "bulk delete" that allows me to delete imported data, one that works even if you haven't used Microsoft Data Migration tool for the imports?

Really appreciate all help.
    Friday, October 24, 2008 7:52 AM

Answers

• I found a solution that did the trick - and it is mad fast. It works for all custom entities, but the catch is that it doesn't work on standard entities.

However, for those interested... 

First. Backup your "customization-file" before doing anything else. Now, to erase all data from an entity, just go to customize entities, mark the entity you want to erase data from and hit delete. Once the entity is deleted you can import it again from the backup of the customization-file you just created. Correctly done, the entity will be clean and fresh and it's lightning fast compared to delete the data manually.. just a few minutes tops.

If there's anyone out there who knows how to do this on standard entities as well, please tell me in this thread.
    Thursday, October 30, 2008 9:08 AM

All replies

• You can use Advanced Find to locate all the records you imported and then delete them 250 at a time depending on your grid display option that you set under CRM Options.

Friday, October 24, 2008 12:24 PM
  •