How to submit a MPI job ro CCS? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, there,

It is my first time to use windows HPC to run mpi jobs. I encountered following problem. When I typed in the command

job submit /askednodes:Node1,Node2 /numprocessors:3 mpiexec MyApp.exe

The job failed without any failure message. If I typed in

job submit /askednodes:Node1,Node2 /numprocessors:3 /stdout:\\headnode\fileshare\out.txt mpiexec MyApp.exe

It returned " Failed to create standard output file ..... err code 5'. I have no idea how to solve these problems.

P.S. If I am going to run the code on serveral nodes, do i need to store the code on each node?

Thank you very much!

Wei

Friday, April 25, 2008 7:17 AM

Answers

• Wei,

What version of CCS are you running (Help -> About)?

There are a few issues here:

• Jobs shouldn't ever fail without a failure message, so you may have uncovered a bug.  Can you send us the output of running "job view #####" on your failed job?
    • Next, try running "task view ####.1" to view the details of the actual MPI task.  This may contain the failure message/details that you need.
    • " If I am going to run the code on serveral nodes, do i need to store the code on each node?"  Every node that runs the job will need to have access to "MyApp.exe" . . . this means it needs to either be in the PATH or in the specified Working Directory for the task.  This application could live on a share, or locally.

Some examples of the last point:

Code Snippet

job submit /workdir:\\headnode\fileshare mpiexec myapp.exe

would work if \\headnode\fileshre contained myapp.exe, or if myapp.exe was in the PATH on all of the compute nodes.

Alternatively, give a full path to yoru application:

Code Snippet

job submit mpiexec "C:\Program Files\MyApp\MyApp.exe"

would also work, provided your application was installed on each machine that your job ran on.

Thanks,

Josh

Friday, April 25, 2008 5:38 PM
  •