none
How To Set A Process To Run As A System / Administrator Process Once Installed RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I have been developing networking software using Microsoft Visual Studio 2017, and created an installer for the software using this toolkit  (https://marketplace.visualstudio.com/items?itemName=VisualStudioProductTeam.MicrosoftVisualStudio2017InstallerProjects). However, what I would  like to know is how to format the installer so that my software runs as a SYSTEM or administrator process once installed.

Thank you very much.

keiferbly

Sunday, February 4, 2018 9:26 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hello,

Is your app is WinRT or classic desktop app. If app is WnRT then it doesn't support Administrator mode. If it is classic Win32 app then you can add manifest file and set "requestedExecutionLevel" flag.

Make the community better together

Sunday, February 4, 2018 6:23 PM
  • It is a classic Windows Forms Application (Win32). I am new to using the installer creating toolkit mentioned, so please tell me how I would add the manifest file, thank you very much.

keiferbly

Sunday, February 4, 2018 6:52 PM
  • You can add manifest file by following steps 

Right click your project file on the Solution Explorer, select Add, then New item. There you can find Application Manifest File.

and set requestedExecutionLevel to 

<requestedPrivileges xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v3">
            <!-- UAC Manifest Options
                 If you want to change the Windows User Account Control level replace the 
                 requestedExecutionLevel node with one of the following.

<requestedExecutionLevel  level="asInvoker" uiAccess="false" />
            <requestedExecutionLevel  level="requireAdministrator" uiAccess="false" />
            <requestedExecutionLevel  level="highestAvailable" uiAccess="false" />

Specifying requestedExecutionLevel element will disable file and registry virtualization.