none
Beginners Forum

General discussion

• Since I have been here, I have noticed a lot of newbie's (myself included). My job dictated that I learn basic programming (in my case VB)and learn it as fast as possible, I'm still not an expert but being able research the forums here has been a big help. One thing I found is that when starting out from scratch, it can be extremely overwhelming. Trying to find other posts without knowing the proper terminology, trying to learn code just by looking at it, figuring out what it does by trial and error. My thanks to those with patience that helped me.

What I am wondering is if there is a way to create a forum specifically for beginner's.

A place where a beginner can post a question when they can't figure out where it's really suppose to be.

Contain ideas for beginner projects, and how to get started.

Although these could be posted somewhere else, Basic questions could be answered here and then copied/moved to the correct location.

If it is for beginner's, most (I think) would start here, both searching and posting, before posting a question that has already been answered.

Just an idea, I know if I had seen it when I first started it would have been my first stop.

Thursday, March 25, 2010 7:46 PM

All replies

• Hi gspeed316

The forums are designed to be used by beginners as well as advanced experts.

If you look at the top right corner of any page, you will see a link "Need help with forums? (FAQ)"  which contains a ton of information about using the forums, including searching and how to use every aspect of the forums.

Don't be shy about letting evryone know that you are new to programming and want to learn. Everybody posting here started at that same place.

Hope this helps and good luck.

Ronnie Vernon MVP

Monday, March 29, 2010 6:23 PM
  • The other thing against beginner's forums is that it automatically reduces the number of people who read the posts.