OCS Hardware Req RRS feed

• Question

• OK so I'm really new to this but this is just too exciting Smile

I just wanted to clarify what hardware is needed to get this up and running for a small business? I've seen that a media gateway is required, but can anybody recommend an entry level one.  Would a Linksys SPA400 be OK.  Also, must you have a mediation server?  Then I guess SIP phones.

That's all for now Smile  If anyone can point me to a good getting started it would be great.  The white paper on the MS site was to much for me Smile

Thanks,

Karl

Friday, November 23, 2007 3:36 PM

All replies

• Hi Karl,

I don't have the OCS documentation in front of me, so some numbers might not be the same as in the docs, but they are close. Microsoft recommends to use:

• CPU: Dual processor, 3.0 GHz or higher
    • RAM: 2 GB or more
    • HDD: 15 rpm SCSI drives in some kind of a RAID configuration

Since almost for every role (Standard/Enterprise Edition pool, Mediation Server, Edge servers, and so on) you will need a separate machine, that start to seem a bit costly for a small business. But the truth is that this product is actually targeted mostly at the medium and large organizations. Due to Microsoft's documentation the above hardware should support a few thousands of users (something about 3,000).

For small companies you can run some or all roles on a virtual machines, but be aware that that is not supported by Microsoft.

About the media gateways - AudioCodes, Dialogic, and Quintum should be supported. Check this site: http://www.microsoft.com/uc/partners_hardware.mspx.

For the SIP phones - the Office Communicator 2007 Client is actually fully capable "SIP phone" for OCS 2007. There are also hardware devices from LG-Nortel, Polycom, Vitelix and others that are certified to work with OCS 2007 and OC 2007.

Hope that helps.

Lubo.

Monday, November 26, 2007 3:43 PM
  • Hi Karl! I'm on the OCS User Assistance (documentation) team.