none
Disappointment in Microsoft Yet Again

General discussion

• I was a Windows user for years; I loved my PC even when I had Widows Millennium. It had some bugs but I still liked the ease of using it. Another family member had 2000 and I could Fix or update items with ease.

I eventually upgrade to Windows XP and was blown away by the interface and the ease of use in updating and working with my apps and other items.

Then it happened, Service pack 2 came out. I could not wait I just new that MS was going to increase functionality and some bells and whistles so I jump in: with no life preserver, no land in site and barely new how to swim thinking the operating system would just take CARE of itself. 

Then all things started to go wrong. To make a long story short I became an Apple user and have had a Mac for about 5 years.

I am a web developer and I need to test my work on all platforms but to avoid having to work with MS Windows I utilized items like Browser Stack and other Browser testing software.

Then I began looking at the reviews on Windows 8, they were great and I decided to pick up a Windows 8 PC. I got the Gateway All-in-one. It was beautiful I contacted my brother a fellow Mac user and told him how awesome Windows 8 was and that he needed to pick up a machine and just try it, he is considering this now.

BUT I WILL TELL HIM DONT DO IT NOW

THE NEW WINDOWS 8.1 ONE CAME OUT AND ONCE AGAIN I JUMPED IN WITHOUT A LIFE PRESERVER AND NO LAND IN SITE, BIG MISTAKE.

MY WINDOWS MACHINE IS NOW ALL MESSED UP, FIRST I HAD NO SOUND AND HAD TO UPDATE A DRIVER. NOW THE MACHINE RUNS SO SLOW AND HAS SO MANY BUGS THAT I DREAD TO EVEN TURN IT ON.

THE WORST PART IS THEY DID NOT LEAVE AN OPTION TO RETURTN TO THE ORIGINAL WINDOWS 8. ITS LIKE SOMEONE TIED BRICKS TO MY FEET AND NOW I JUST SINKING WITH NO WAY TO GET BACK TO THE SURFACE (PUN INTENDED).