Correct way to follow relationships in plugin using strongly typed objects RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I am new to plugins and have been following tutorials, etc.

I have a plugin that I am playing with. I have got strongly typed objects and understand that the target can be an entity depending on the message, etc. I also understand about preimages and postimages.

What I am looking at in simple terms is this:

when a user updates an account, I want to get the data fort eh account and it's primary account entity and send this to a web service.

I can get a strongly typed Account object and understand that casting the target to Account will only have the data that is being updated. I have also cast the preImage to a strongly typed Account object. With the preImage object, even though the record has a primary contact set (this was saved previously), when I try preImage.account_primary_contact I get a null reference error.

Am I doing soemthing wrong here? My other thought was to manually load the Account object to test the data that way. How do I retrieve a full Account record using the guid to a strongly typed object? should I use service.retrieve?

One I have a full Account object, will the properties for relationships be populated - ie will theAccount.account_primary_contact have a populated Contact object? or do I need to do something else? it seems that following the relationships using dot notation should work?

thanks in advance for the help!

james

Friday, December 4, 2015 8:10 AM

Answers

• Hi Chris - thanks for the reply. Yes I have used crmsvcutil to generate the class file for the entities.

When I am accessing the properties of the primary entity this is fine, but it's when accessing the related entities that I always seem to have null references. I kept playing and finally got a valid reference using the below - the last object primaryAccount is populated.