Is this the way to fix my WGA woes? RRS feed

• Question

• I purchased an HP notebook in May, 2005 from Fry's Electronics with XP Home edition on it.  Needed XP Pro, so I moved the Home edition to an old computer at the house and purchased a full edition of XP Pro in Sep, 2005 from The Software Guy (no longer to be found on the Internet).  I installed the XP Pro to the notebook and wondered why he sent me a Volume License Key, but thought nothing more about it.  I was able to activate and validated NUMEROUS times before the latest update from WGA finally told me I was illegal.

I thought I purchased a full version.  Still, I think from all my research that the VLK only wants to validate as an "upgrade" to my original XP Home product key.  Why it took so many times before MS invalidated me, I'll never know, but that is not my problem, obviously. 

I am a programmer and would not want someone stealing my software either, so my intent is to get legal.  So, I think that if I remove the XP Home edition from the old computer and reinstall it on the HP notebook, then I can install the XP Pro using the VLK as an upgrade to it, right? 

I also purchased Visio Pro and Project Standard from this guy (I'm out a lotta bucks)...lo and behold, these are now invalid also after all this time.  The CDs say "Not for retail or OEM distribution".  Again, if it's the VLK that is the issue, then I think that these are the only two that I need to purchase a license for. 

Please help.  Can anyone verify all this for me?

Thanks!

MaryMary

Sunday, February 25, 2007 9:21 PM

Answers