Computer Backups Status All Changed To "Not set up" RRS feed

• Question

• I've been running WHS2011 for several months now. I have 7 computers backed up on it & the backups were working fine.

However last night I spotted that the backup status on one computer now said "Not set up". Checking the WHS Dashboard I can now see that all now computers are now suddenly set with a backup status of "Not set up".

This was working fine before.

I can just click on them and select "Set up backup for this computer" but then if I back up the backup never completes and I get the status "Incomplete" and an error "Cannot find the selected backup volume".

Any ideas anyone?

Wednesday, May 30, 2012 1:20 PM

Answers

• I found the problem. I found the problem. For some reason my volume id's were changed or something else HomeServer is using to identify volumes. When I clicked in the Dashboard on "customize backup" The dialog showed me 2 versions of my local disks. One version was offline they other active. Look at my attached screenshot, it makes it clear. Just wanted to post this, in case somebody else encounters this problem.
    Monday, October 15, 2012 5:13 PM

All replies

• Hi,

did you try a reboot already? Eventually simply a service crashed and therefore cannot deliver data to the dashboard. If a reboot does not solve the issue, you may have to repair or delete the current backup database.

Best greetings from Germany
    Olaf

• Proposed as answer by James Xiong Wednesday, June 6, 2012 7:08 AM
    Wednesday, May 30, 2012 2:24 PM
  • Hi,

Have you tried to open the Dashboard in safe mode? I think it could be a checkpoint here.

At the same time, you need to check the status of your backup volume. Please make sure your backup volume is connected and healthy.

If you have other backup locations, you also need to recover the data from your secondary backup file to verify the display issue.

Final checkpoint, please make sure your WHS 2011 is up-to-date.

Regards,
    James