Microsoft Certifications and IT Jobs RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hi Guys,

I want to get Microsoft certified such as MCSE. I have a bachelor degree in Management Information System. However, I have been working in pharmaceutical industry for the past 10+ years. I feel that it's hard for me to advance in this field since I do not have a relevant degree. There has not been any career advancement during the past 10+ years.

I'm thinking about getting MS certified to help me get my foot in the door of IT industry. I know I am way behind the technology now. But I'm willing to do whatever to catch up.

What exams should I start with if I want to be a MCSE? What is the best way to prepare for the exam?

Thanks

Thursday, May 29, 2014 1:57 PM

All replies

• First of all, think about which MCSE you want, since there are several variations:

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en-us/mcse-certification.aspx

If you are thinking about the "old" traditional MCSE (Systems Engineer), probably the closest "modern" MCSE (Solutions Expert) would be the MCSE:Server Infrastructure. But there are some newer specializations that you might find interesting if you are pursuing a career change. Perhaps a MCSE:Private Cloud or a MCSE:Sharepoint, or any of the other several variations.