More dumb questions ... after the beta RRS feed

• Question

• I do a lot of beta testing for all sorts fo things, plus I am a multimedia developer. I probably know the answers already, but these questions have to be asked, right? ;-)

Current install of WHS erases all hard drives on the server. So when the beta times out and I upgrade to release software, will I or will I not lose all my data? Will there be an upgrade option to WHS final?

[EDIT: This looks like a thorough answer http://forums.microsoft.com/WindowsHomeServer/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=1222230&SiteID=50]

By the way, the release docs say that there will be a standalone software option for WHS, but nothing I read elsewhere confirms that, talking only of pre-configured machines. Is this a big secret? Are we not supposed to tell?

I'd love to include something like Exchange Server to WHS. Just a baby version. Just for me and my wife to make synchronising our calendars and email and stuff with PocketPC and or Nokia phone nice and easy. What's the chance? I read elsewhere that Exchange Server is OUT becuase MS wants us to stump up for the full Server 2003 + Exchange Server rather than adding it to WHS ... but surely we can all see how cool it would be for the entire family to be able to sync more than just photos, video and music for an affordable price.

Please don't flame if I'm out of order. Just tell me to shut up  :-) I am very excited by what I see as possibilities for WHS, for both home users and small business users  - I fall into both categories - especially MOBILE users.

I am excited by developments like this

http://www.microvision.com/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bSTxv0kqyVw

and how, coupled with the right home server solutions, I might never need to lug my laptop on the road ever again!

Friday, March 2, 2007 3:04 AM

All replies