My 2 week status. RRS feed

• Question

• It's been 2 weeks since installing WHS.  I'm a newbie with server applications, so I'm learning as I go.

My server is an HP box, refurbished A1600N purchased the same day I was accepted into this beta program, is amd 64 3800+ with 1 gig ram, 500 and 200 gig sata drives, 200 and 160 gig pata drives and a linksys gigabit adapter.  On board network and sound are disabled and DVD drive was taken out after the install and put into an external case for future use, along with monitor, keyboard and mouse.

About 170 gig of total storage so far is used for files, duplication and backups, and so far, 3 laptops, an iMac ( all wireless) and xbox 360 are connected to WHS through Dlink DIR-655 gigabit wireless n router.  They are wired if large files need to be moved.

Backups:  works great!  Can't believe I am finally consistantly backing up my laptops after all these years, and restore is a breeze through wired but haven't tried to restore via wireless yet.  Didn't really believe the server was waking up the laptops from hibernation until I actually saw it happening and is definately a plus.  One thing I would like to see in the future is concurrent backups, rather than current way of backing up one device at a time.  Another thing I would love to see is auto backup of my iMac.

Central storage:  I've moved all of my available family pics and mp3 music, along with all my files, and loved the way I can access and stream these from any of my laptops and imac.  (Since WHS is beta, I do keep additional duplicates in an external storage)  Home movies are next to go on as I convert them from dvds.  One thing I would like to see that is not server related but xbox 360 related, is that xbox really needs to support more than the Microsoft's wmv format.  It is making my life difficult, as I haven't had any success converting anything to this format.