WHS - What about data safety? RRS feed

• Question

• Greetings all,

Once I installed a 250GB hard drive in a Windows 2000 box and did not yet know about the 137GB limit. My drive seemed to install and operate just fine until the day I crossed that 137GB limit. Then, my drive started screwing up. When the computer was restarted, chkdsk.exe started running automatically and when it completed my data on NTFS was unavailable. It seemed that chkdsk.exe had somehow messed up my file system. After researching on the web, I became aware of the whys and whats of this matter, and discovered that third-party software would restore the file system to usability, and that I needed to enable support for Large LBA. In my case, I’m a tech rat, and managed to figure it all out okay, and saved my data, and can’t help but feel pity for the poor bustard that loses his data, or ends up sending his drive in for “repair”. (Something I suspect has happened to many a drive experiencing that 137GB problem.)

Now, you may be wondering why I mention all this in a WHS forum.
    Well, it’s because of the way I felt Microsoft had let me down with respect to data recovery. Why, for instance, after having received multiple service packs, was chkdsk.exe not updated to the extent that that at the very least a warning message was not issued? And why was it necessary for me to resort to third-party software to regain access to my files? I know from my web-research, that I was not the first to experience this trouble - in fact, far from it - many people on the web were seeking solutions to this same problem. I felt it “un-neighborly” that Microsoft did not take this situation more seriously.
    When one installs a large disk drive, one is at large risk. Backup is essential, and that I why I never buy just one disk – drives must be obtained in pairs with one being used to backup the other.

Enter WHS.

I have long wanted to setup a RAID, but I worried about an alternate set of problems: