Blocked VLK, should i care? RRS feed

• Question

• bascially im a college student who has a computer who got a bunch of virus or whatever on it to make it run slow and no good. so, i sent to an asian man, got it back working great, cept for the whole vlk block thing. i dont get a desktop picture, so i can live with that. so,. do i really need to do anything. or can i just operate like this. i dont really care, i just need a computer to do things. im not broke, im in debt. so do i really need to shell out 150 bucks to a multi-billion dollar corpration just cuz its a politcaly correct thing to do. im not gonna, so now what... just leave it like it is. im cool with that.
    Saturday, November 15, 2008 5:00 PM

Answers

• Pluckt007,

We request all users initially run the Genuine Diagnostics tool to try and identify the issue you may be having.

Download and run the utility at this link http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=52012 , then click the Windows tab, Copy to Clipboard, then paste the report into a reply in your original thread.

Also, please tell us about the Certificate of Authenticity (CoA) that may be affixed to your computer, or may have come with the retail packaging for your product if you purchased it at retail.  Tell us:
    1. What edition of Windows XP is it for, Home, Pro, or Media Center, or another version or edition of Windows?
    2. Does it read "OEM Software" or "OEM Product" in black lettering?
    3. Or, does it have the computer manufacturer's name in black lettering?
    4. DO NOT post the Product Key printed on the CoA.

NOTE: The data collected with the Genuine Diagnostics Tool does NOT contain any information that can personally identify you and can be fully reviewed, by you, before being posted.

Many universities have free computer services for students, so you might want to find out if yours does.