none
Looking to earn the MCSE certification, but confused... RRS feed

• Question

• Hello.  I am confused as well.  I am on the sales side of IT, and I got the equivalent of the sales certifications for Microsoft, EMC, VMWare, Cisco, etc.  I have no experience on the IT side, or any practical application in even an entry-level IT job.  I have the knowledge equivalent to the A+ certification.  I am looking to enter into the IT world, and I want to earn the MCSE certification and eventually the CCNA certification.  I was told by a couple peers of mine that having those two certifications will get my "foot in the door" in an IT department.

When I looked into the MCSE certification, I have seen that Microsoft has changed their exams and certification requirements.  After purchasing a study guide for the MCSE Windows 2003 Server element, I found this will expire as of July 31st, 2012.  I called Microsoft Learning directly, and I was told I have to start out by passing the MCSA exams (70-410, 70-411, and 70-412) first.  Then for the MCSE certification, I will have to two more exams (70-246 and 70-247).

Can I please get some clarification and some direction?  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Tuesday, July 24, 2012 11:21 PM

Answers

All replies

• What you have been advised is correct.  You need to do MCSA (70-410, 70-411, and 70-412) first and then the new MCSE (70-246 and 70-247).  I say new MCSE as Microsoft re-released this acronym and it means something different than the MCSE acronym associated with Windows Server 2003.

More information about MCSA can be found at http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/certification/mcsa.aspx

More information about MCSE can be found at http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/certification/mcse.aspx

When you see answers and helpful posts, please click Vote As Helpful, Propose As Answer, and/or Mark As Answer

Jeff Wharton
    MSysDev (C.Sturt), MDbDsgnMgt (C.Sturt), MCT, MCPD, MCSD, MCITP, MCDBA