none
[UWP] Customizing Independent and Dependent Labels in WinRTXamlToolkit Charting RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Everyone

I am kinda new in UWP. I mange to generate very simple column chart as is shown in the figure using WinRTXamlToolKit.Controls.DataVisualization.UWP

Unfortunately, it seems that there is very much details in either the documentations and examples.

I was unable to add Dependent data label (y axis label) and change size/weight of Independent data labels (x axis label).

Would you mind please help to find the proper way of customizing the chart?

Best Regards,

Reza

• Moved by Breeze Liu Thursday, November 30, 2017 9:43 AM off topic
    Tuesday, November 28, 2017 11:45 AM

All replies

• Hi Reza Neam,

We can add Axes in the Chart to show the "y axis label" like:

<Charting:Chart.Axes>
        <Charting:LinearAxis x:Name="YAxis" Orientation="Y" Title="y axis" ShowGridLines="True" />
    </Charting:Chart.Axes>

Then we can adjust the maximum and minimum in the behind code:

YAxis.Maximum = 100;
    YAxis.Minimum = 0;
    YAxis.Interval = 10;

When you want to add items at the X orientation. You can try to bind the ColumnSeries’s ItemsSource to a list which contains all the data(the name of the x axis label and the amount of it at y orientation) you want to show.

According to the screenshot, I made a small sample here:

In the xaml,

<Grid Background="{ThemeResource ApplicationPageBackgroundThemeBrush}">
        <Charting:Chart Title="Chart Title" x:Name="ColumnChart" HorizontalAlignment="Left" VerticalAlignment="Top" Margin="100,100,0,0" Width="400" Height="400" >
            <Charting:ColumnSeries Title="Data1" Margin="0" IndependentValuePath="Name" DependentValuePath="Amount" IsSelectionEnabled="True"/>
            <Charting:ColumnSeries Title="Data2" Margin="0" IndependentValuePath="Name" DependentValuePath="Amount" IsSelectionEnabled="True"/>