Populate field using onchange event. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello

I know there are many responses to this very basic question, however none of them are very clear and I have tried many of them to no avail. I am sure it is something very simple that I am missing so please answer as if I have no programming experience at all.

I am using CRM 4.0

I created a new Entity called SCR

I have created an N:1 relationship for the SCR entity with the Account entity

I have created two custom fields in the Attributes of the SCR entity

new_accountid

new_street1

There are two mappings of the N:1 relationship for the SCR entity with the Account entity

Source = Account Entity field = accountid    -      Target = SCR Entity field = new_accountid

Source = Account Entity field = address1_line1    -      Target = SCR Entity field = new_street1

On the SCR Entity Form I added a field for the new_accountid that looks up the Account name from the Account Lookup View and a text field for the new_street1 that I want to have populated when the Account is selected in the new_accountid field.

I added the field address1_line1 to the Account Lookup View

I added the following code to the SCR Entity Form's OnLoad event

Code Snippet

function OnCrmPageLoad()
    {
       crmForm.all.new_accountid.attachEvent( "onafterselect" , OnAccountSelected );
    }
    function OnAccountSelected()
    {
       // Get Address data from lookup view

var lookupValues = crmForm.all.new_accountid.items[0].keyValues;
       var address1 = lookupValues.address1_line1.value; 
       // Populate Address fields
       crmForm.all.new_street1.DataValue = address1;
    }

OnCrmPageLoad();

I did save all the changes and Publish the changes

However, when I create a new SCR, the new_street1 field does not populate with the value of the Account's address1_line1 field when I select an Account from the Account lookup.

Could someone walk me through what I have done wrong?

Thank you very much.

Allan Browning