none
Advice for the 70-511 exam RRS feed

• Question

• My exam is coming up in a few weeks and I'm looking for some tips. I keep hearing about people failing this exam, some with several years of experience with WPF, and I want to do everything possible to make sure I don't fall in to that group. Here is a little about my experience and what I have done to study so far....

1. I have several years programming experience. Only about a year of it is with C# though and most of it has been with winforms.

2. I'm a computer science major about a year away from getting my BS and have taken courses in C#.

3. I've read the Microsoft 70-511 Training kit twice and have taken all the practice tests on the CD, and usually pass with an 85%.

4. I have read many articles on msdn about WPF.

5. I've done several of the 70-511 Training Kits practice applications and have started building two more complex applications on my own.

This is my first Microsoft exam and because I keep hearing about people failing this one I'm a little nervous. If any one has any advice on some other things I can do please leave a response.

Friday, June 3, 2011 1:11 PM

Answers

All replies

• One additional suggestion:

Go to the exam description page:

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/exam.aspx?ID=70-511&locale=en-us#tab2

and then check out each entry on the list and make sure that you are knowledgeable about the corresponding topic. If there is someting there that you are not comfortable with, search MSDN for that topic and study the documentation.

Saturday, June 4, 2011 7:50 PM
  • "search MSDN for that topic and study the documentation" and I would advise you to do  more programming (hands on)  regarding the topic as well. Imagine different scenarios and check the output when you run your program. It is time consuming but you learn better by coding.

Regards

Gaspard

Saturday, June 4, 2011 8:38 PM