Install Robocopy on WHS RRS feed

• Question

• I am not a SF pro,, but I have a WHS server at home, to backup clients. Reading furums I have come to the insight that I need a tool like RoboCopy to backup my NAS drives.

Could anyone give me, easy understaning, instructions to install Robocopy on my WHS server and how to setup Robocopy to start when WHS starts.

//regards
    //lasse
    Lasse
    Friday, October 3, 2008 8:41 AM

Answers

• Robocopy for Windows Server 2003 is part of the Resource Kit Tools, which you can download here:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=9d467a69-57ff-4ae7-96ee-b18c4790cffd&displaylang=en
    The installation only works directly from the server desktop.
    I recommend to copy robocopy.exe to an path like Windows\system32, so that it is always accessible without entering the installation path.
    You could also install it on another machine and only copy robocopy.exe later. The Vista version of robocopy doesn't seem to work with Windows Server 2003.

You can check also http://www.ss64.com/nt/robocopy.html for the syntax.
    The benefit over the Windows Home Server integrated backup is, that you can select what you wish to backup and that you can run it batch based as a Scheduled task.
    Also the logging functions are great for a command line tool.

Best greetings from Germany
    Olaf
    Friday, October 3, 2008 9:24 AM
  • Hi Lasse,
    how did you do that?
    Did you call robocopy with all it's parameters in the scheduled task or did you create a batch file and call this batch file?
    The later would be better. If this does not work, could you post your entire command here?

Here in a German Windows a batch with the command
    robocopy c:\temp c:\temp\test /LOG:c:\temp\%date%.txt
    did function - also if started this batch as Scheduled task, I got the expected name for the file.

Olaf
    Sunday, October 5, 2008 4:47 PM

All replies