Monitoring my new home server RRS feed

• Question

• I just barely finished building my first home server, so I'm brand new to this.  It's a newer atom board with nothing but a couple normal sized hard drives in it, one laptop hard drive, ram, fan, power supply. I want to put it up in my closet, but I am afraid it might get too hot in there. Is there a way to look up the temperature and basic stats of my self built whs 2011 system through remote access or anything? Perhaps there's a simple addin or something for this. Thanks.
    Tuesday, September 27, 2011 7:34 AM

All replies

• I don't believe WHS provides that type of hardware integration.  Only ways I can think checking temp is booting machine into BIOS or on server class systems install management pack from OEM.  Either way, likely not exposed from WHS software and not likely an option with hardware deployed.  My preference would be locating physical machine some place which has a bit more air flow.
    Dave Guenthner [MSFT] This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights. http://blogs.technet.com/b/davguents_blog
    Tuesday, September 27, 2011 10:42 AM
  • First, the qualifier:  This is unsupported as it involves a Remote Desktop Connection to WHS, but works.

Download HW Monitor (free version)  from

http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html

Copy it to the software folder on your WHS.

Use Remote Desktop Connection to your WHS using Administrator as the user and the Administrator password that was used to set up WHS.

Copy the download from the software folder to your WHS desktop.

Run the program.

Monitor the results for awhile.

Log off WHS Remote Desktop Connection.

Log back on/off whenever you need to check temps.

BullDawg
    In God We Trust