none
Should I take the 70-536 exam before the 70-511? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am planning a career change, to become a Windows Developer. I have very little experience in software development. I have done some VB programming many years ago in uni. I understand the basic concepts of development, but that’s about it

I am really keen and passionate to do this and willing to put the work in to achieve my goal. I do appreciate that all the exams require you to have at least one year’s experience, however I think I could get around this by developing at home as a hobby, or finding small projects to do, to get the practice. I am looking to get the latest certification i.e. Ver 4.

I work for an ISP and we have a Sys Dev department which I am keen to get into as a junior developer.  If I can prove to them I have what it takes and pass at least one exam, I could hopefully get a position as a Junior Developer! J

My questions are...

1.       Given my background, should I complete exam 70-536 before 70-511?

2.       I have bought this book - http://www.amazon.com/Microsoft-Visual-2010-Step/dp/0735626707/ and I am working through the chapters. A little confusing but I’m getting there.

3.       I plan to self study due to limited finances and time, is there any other reading  material/videos/tutorials/training kits that I should use?

4.       Correct me if I am wrong. Would it be easier to learn by taking on small projects and learning this way. Are there any websites that have small project questions that I can answer to improve my knowledge?

I look forward to your replies and thank you in advance for all your help, it is very much appreciated.

Tuesday, February 1, 2011 10:00 AM

Answers

• If you only want the certification, then you don't need to take 70-536; it's enough to pass 70-511 in order to attain the MCTS: Web developer 4.