MS OFFICE PROFESSIONAL PLUS 2010 does not work in Windows 7 Safe Mode RRS feed

• Question

• Noel D Patton says that MS Office Professional Plus 2010 is de facto counterfeit because it is only available to companies in bulk for use on their own computers. 

I hope he is not correct: I purchased MS Office Professional Plus 2010 through my company's EPP (Employee Purchase Plan).  I was sent a download link from the Microsoft Home Use Program at Digital River. 

I have been using this for almost a year now.  I receive all the usual MS updates. The only problem, as I have just discovered, is that I cannot use it when I boot in safe mode. Something about not being able to find the license.  I thought I would try to get MS to validate it but found that the validation tool has not been updated to include Office 2010.  I need to be able to use this in safe mode on occasion.

I am not an IT professional: please redirect me if this is not the correct forum.

Thanks!

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 3:33 AM

Answers

• "NotRiley" wrote in message news:d4e3f430-87fc-461d-864d-78b69c7bfe48...

Noel D Patton says that MS Office Professional Plus 2010 is de facto counterfeit because it is only available to companies in bulk for use on their own computers. 

I hope he is not correct: I purchased MS Office Professional Plus 2010 through my company's EPP (Employee Purchase Plan).  I was sent a download link from the Microsoft Home Use Program at Digital River. 

I have been using this for almost a year now.  I receive all the usual MS updates. The only problem, as I have just discovered, is that I cannot use it when I boot in safe mode. Something about not being able to find the license.  I thought I would try to get MS to validate it but found that the validation tool has not been updated to include Office 2010.  I need to be able to use this in safe mode on occasion.

I am not an IT professional: please redirect me if this is not the correct forum.

Thanks!