Routing Settings and Login RRS feed

• Question

• Howdy,

I have a two pronged question.

1) I have a speedstream 6520, and I need to enter the routing information which i have seen in other posts, but I am new to fiddling with NAT and other protocols. I dont need specifics for my modem( router setup tell me my modem isnt uPNP when it is), but I need a more verbose solution, and assume no prior knowledge. I do know how to access these settings, but i dont know where and what to enter.

2) I am assuming that if the router isnt setup, you can access your website via using the IP address. ie http://w.x.y.z or https:// . I get a login screen and I enter my user name and password, but it keeps telling me its wrong. despite tripping checking.

Some more information you need to know, I do a domain name details check, and under "verifying your web site is accessable from the internet" and "verifying remote access is accesable from the internet" there are red x's next to them.

So is my problem related to part 1, or are they totally seperate?

Thanking you much in advance.

Dwayne

Thursday, July 5, 2007 10:58 AM

Answers

• Dwayne, what you need to do, in a nutshell, is configure your router to forward the remote access ports from your WAN link (from your ISP) to your WHS. Those ports are 80, 443, and 4125. 80 is optional, because you can access your server using the HTTPS protocol on port 443 instead. But you need the other two ports for remote access to work.

Once you've got port forwarding properly configured, you'll be able to access your WHS Remote Access web site via your WAN IP address (test from somewhere off your local network; some broadband routers have trouble with looping back from inside the network to the WAN address). At that point, you should be able to sign up for, and use, a livenode.com custom domain name. You may also want to check and see if your router supports any of the dynamic DNS services out there.
    Thursday, July 5, 2007 1:36 PM
  • Hi,