Using a word template in a workflow RRS feed

• Question

•  

HI,

Can´t undestand that I can´t find anything about this straight forward issue.

If a given event happens I would like a WORKFLOW (based on creation of a Order) rule to take my word template letter and put for instance the customers name or something on that letter.

The problem is in all is simplicity that I need a workflow to put a dynamic variable into a word letter template and then assign this word letter to that given custormer who triggered this event. The workflow I can manage, but not the thing with the letter and the dynamic value in that letter.

I am new to this, can anyone help me, above should be possible?

Thank you in advance

Jens Hansen

Denmark 

Monday, October 27, 2008 10:50 AM

Answers

• Jens,

You can only use mail templates in workflows - not mail merge templates.

/Henrik (proactive.dk)

Monday, October 27, 2008 1:59 PM
  • Yes ... not mail merge templates = word templates.

You can not use mail merge templates in workflows - you must use mail templates - but they can only be used for mailing predefined mails (including datafields).

But you should be able to make a mail merge template, add datafields, and then save it for later use.

/Henrik (proactive.dk)

Tuesday, October 28, 2008 12:55 PM

All replies

• Jens,

You can only use mail templates in workflows - not mail merge templates.

/Henrik (proactive.dk)

Monday, October 27, 2008 1:59 PM
  • Henrik:

Do you mean "not word merge templates"?

I have taken another direction to this then - nice to know, thank you... The merge with word. xml files still gives me problems though. Do you by any chance have a link concerning the subject, since all I can find only deals with setup stuff exclusively in CRM, which do not relate to the real problems in this.