locked
XP re-validation RRS feed

  • Question

  • If I purchase the new validation key and install it, do I lose all the information, such as files and emails, etc., that I now have on my computer?
    Does it wipe out everything and start over from scratch?

    Thanks, Mike
    Saturday, September 2, 2006 1:28 PM

Answers

  • Mike,

    If your situation allows successful use of the Key Updater Utility to change a nongenuine installaion of XP to a genuine installation, there is no reason to expect any loss of data, email, docs, settings, etc.

    Of course, it is always prudent to have a current backup when doing significant things to your computer hardware or software.

    Saturday, September 2, 2006 5:09 PM