CTP2 and VS.NET 2008 RRS feed

• Question

• I have VS 2008 on my machine. I have not installed CTP2 yet. Also, I have never worked with sync framework before.

Inspection of my machine showed following facts (after VS 2008 install only):

The folder C:\Program Files\Microsoft Synchronization Services\ADO.NET\v1.0 has following files:

1) Microsoft.Synchronization.Data.dll (111,984 bytes, Date: 08/14/2007)

2) Microsoft.Synchronization.Data.Server.dll (99,696 bytes, Date: 08/14/2007)

3) Microsoft.Synchronization.Data.SqlServerCE.dll (19,831 bytes, Date: 10/02/2007)

GAC shows following:

1) Microsoft.Synchronization.Data.dll

2) Microsoft.Synchronization.Data.Server.dll

3) Microsoft.Synchronization.Data.SqlServerCE.dll

I confirmed that the number of bytes on these 2 sets of dlls is same.

The CTP2 download page at:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=c88ba2d1-cef3-4149-b301-9b056e7fb1e6&DisplayLang=en

shows following information:

"For CTP2, you must uninstall all previous versions of the Sync Framework and V2 Sync Services for ADO.NET prior to installing this CTP."

Since I have not worked with this framework before, the language about "Sync Framework and Sync Services" confused me.

Are there more dlls than I listed above? What set of dlls constitute Sync Framework and what set constitute Sync Services for ADO.NET? This sync article is not much of help either from dll breakdown point of view: http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/sync/bb821992.aspx#data

Do I need to get rid of the above dlls on my machine prior to CTP2 install? If so, how (as VS install does not offer a way to remove the above dlls)?

Thanks

• Moved by Max Wang_1983 Friday, April 22, 2011 8:26 PM forum consolidation (From:SyncFx - Microsoft Sync Framework Database Providers [ReadOnly])
    Monday, March 10, 2008 6:46 AM

All replies