locked
How To Delete Backups of the Server Itself RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hello:

    I have 8 clients being backed up.  I can delete those client computer backups from the Dashboard.  For the "Server Itself" backup that goes to an external USB drive, there does not seem to be an option to delete older backups.  How does that work?  Does it just accumulate on the USB attached external drive until the disk runs out of space and then collapse?

    Thanks,


    Rich Locus, Logicwurks, LLC

    http://www.logicwurks.com

    Wednesday, April 9, 2014 7:12 PM

Answers

  • Hello:

    I have 8 clients being backed up.  I can delete those client computer backups from the Dashboard.  For the "Server Itself" backup that goes to an external USB drive, there does not seem to be an option to delete older backups.  How does that work?  Does it just accumulate on the USB attached external drive until the disk runs out of space and then collapse?

    Thanks,


    Rich Locus, Logicwurks, LLC

    http://www.logicwurks.com

    Hi, older backups on your drive will be deleted and new backups will be added.

    Claude

    • Marked as answer by RichLocus Wednesday, April 9, 2014 8:33 PM
    Wednesday, April 9, 2014 8:12 PM
  • That's correct. Typically you will see the disk fill up and rumble along with a few GB to spare and then one day it will run a full clean up releasing a large amount of space. This cycle then repeats.

    Phil P.S. If you find my comment helpful or if it answers your question, please mark it as such.


    • Edited by Phil Harrison Wednesday, April 9, 2014 8:56 PM
    • Marked as answer by RichLocus Wednesday, April 9, 2014 9:13 PM
    Wednesday, April 9, 2014 8:55 PM

All replies

  • Hello:

    I have 8 clients being backed up.  I can delete those client computer backups from the Dashboard.  For the "Server Itself" backup that goes to an external USB drive, there does not seem to be an option to delete older backups.  How does that work?  Does it just accumulate on the USB attached external drive until the disk runs out of space and then collapse?

    Thanks,


    Rich Locus, Logicwurks, LLC

    http://www.logicwurks.com

    Hi, older backups on your drive will be deleted and new backups will be added.

    Claude

    • Marked as answer by RichLocus Wednesday, April 9, 2014 8:33 PM
    Wednesday, April 9, 2014 8:12 PM
  • Claude:

    OK!  So it "auto-magic"... no user input required.

    Thanks,


    Rich Locus, Logicwurks, LLC

    http://www.logicwurks.com

    Wednesday, April 9, 2014 8:34 PM
  • That's correct. Typically you will see the disk fill up and rumble along with a few GB to spare and then one day it will run a full clean up releasing a large amount of space. This cycle then repeats.

    Phil P.S. If you find my comment helpful or if it answers your question, please mark it as such.


    • Edited by Phil Harrison Wednesday, April 9, 2014 8:56 PM
    • Marked as answer by RichLocus Wednesday, April 9, 2014 9:13 PM
    Wednesday, April 9, 2014 8:55 PM