Which HW System would you recommend for WHS RRS feed

• Question

• Hello

I am new to WHS.

If I buy a new HW System, which Dell HW System would you recommend to install the WHS CPT Release?

I have 3 PC's (2 Dell Dimension 9200 and one Dell Laptop Inspiron 9100) in my Home Network.

Thanks for your support.

ullk

Friday, April 20, 2007 9:37 PM

All replies

• If I were going to buy pre-configured hardware, I would probably buy the least expensive Dell PowerEdge, the SC440. I would accept all of the defaults, except I would upgrade the processor by one step. That will run you about $550. Oh, and I would buy (not from Dell, who will bend you over a barrel, maybe from NewEgg) a much larger hard drive.
    Friday, April 20, 2007 10:06 PM
  • Thanks Ken for your answer.
    Could anyone recommend another HW configuration for WHS (from HP or another)?
    Thanks for your support..

Saturday, April 21, 2007 5:47 PM
  • I just installed on a "older" Dell PowerEdge 830 (3.0 GHz Pentium D (dual core), 2 Gig RAM, and 2 SATA drives (80 & 320 Gig)), and what I've realized is that while this system is massive overkill for a 10-user file server, it has a few nice features I think you should consider. First Dell hardware has a pretty good reputation (esp. PowerEdge servers), second they run quiet, and are typically quite affordable. The lowest-end PowerEdge (SC440 you are looking at) is good, but has very limited HD configurations. IIRC, the system only takes two 3 1/2 inch HDs... My PE830 has room for 4 SATA drives, allowing for greater storage space before considering external HD options.