How to access Windows Server Hard drives on PC after server Hardware failure RRS feed

• Question

• I have an HP 490 Media Home Server with WHS 2011 installed.  The server HW died, the disks are fine, I tried to access the hard drives on a Windows 10 PC to recover the data but the show an error message saying I don't have access to the drives.  I tried changing the permissions, but I don't have access to change the permissions even I am an administrator on the PC.  Any suggestions?
    Thursday, January 4, 2018 2:41 AM

Answers

• Thanks a lot Eve, got the server, switched the drives and now works like a charm.  Thanks a lot for your help!
    • Marked as answer by Jorgeva Saturday, January 20, 2018 6:05 AM
    Saturday, January 20, 2018 6:05 AM

All replies

• Hi,

If possible, connect WHS2011 hardware to your client PC via cable, then, open File Explorer – This PC, right click the disk and select Properties – Security – Advanced, please try to change the Owner of this disk and check the result.

If problem persists, please provide me the screenshot of the disk’s “Properties – Security” and “Properties – Security – Advanced” screen.

Best Regards,
    Eve Wang

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Thursday, January 4, 2018 8:45 AM
  • Hi,

How things are going there on this issue?

Please let me know if you would like further assistance.

Best Regards,
    Eve Wang

If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Monday, January 8, 2018 8:20 AM