B/U & Restore Problems RRS feed

• Question

•  

I had a SATA drive die...my d: drive...it was my main filestore (I keep only system files and apps on my c: drive...no user files). I've never had to restore before and assumed that the default backup was taking care of me. I'm a web designer and now I discover that NO html, htm, aspx, asp, php or any of my other web files have been backed up! What's up with that?

Also, I had always assumed (erroneously) that I'd be able to restore by folder...why is that not possible? I really only needed one folder immediately for a site that got hacked and now I have nothing! No web files because they apparently aren't imporant enough to include in a backup by default and I was forced to restore over 350GB (several times because the system updated mid-restore and even though the restore was running, there apparently is nothing that indicates to the update program that it would be a bad idea to reboot mid-restore) only to find I have none of my most important files...my clients are not going to be happy with me. Help me understand what's going on.

Thursday, November 15, 2007 3:34 AM

Answers

• The first question that I have is, are you using the 2.0 beta or the 1.6 released version?

As far as I know, the files you have listed *are* backed up. They are not listed as excluded files in OneCare's help for 2.0. We just went through a discussion on this topic here - http://forums.microsoft.com/WindowsOneCare/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=2365340&SiteID=2

Basically, the files you listed should have been backed up. If, however, these files were stored in \Windows or \Program Files, they may not have been backed up. If your D:\ drive is scanned for backups, then the files should have been backed up. You should also be able to browse the backup set for specific files. You can't restore by folder, though you can select files by type or you can browse the backup set and select specific files.

-steve

Thursday, November 15, 2007 1:27 PM