none
New distributions? (Migrated from community.research.microsoft.com)

Question

• fuhaoda posted on 03-26-2011 12:41 PM

Many thanks for developing the Infer.NET! Great tool to extend our compuation capacity.

I am a statistician and dealing with lots of different distributions. Such as Weibull in survival analysis.

Are you going to incorporate more distribution in the Infer.Net? It seems so limited right now.

Maybe there is another way to do that. Please let me know if I missed something.

Best,

Haoda Fu

Friday, June 03, 2011 6:41 PM
    Owner

Answers

• minka replied on 03-30-2011 4:15 AM

In Infer.NET you are not specifying a pdf, you are always manipulating random variables directly.  So if you create a Gaussian random variable and then apply exp, you are getting a new random variable whose prior distribution is log-normal:

Variable<double> y = Variable.Exp(Variable.GaussianFromMeanAndVariance(0,1));  // y's prior is log-normal

I don't understand your second question.  It will be clearer if you explain what model you are trying to implement.

Owner

All replies

• John Guiver replied on 03-28-2011 6:07 AM

Hi Haoda

The primary focus of Infer.NET is to allowing building of complex distributions as represented by graphical models, and performing inference in these complex models. These distributions are built by composing simple building blocks. For example, we don't provide a Student T distribution, but we do allow a Gamma-distributed random variable to be the precision of a Gaussian Distribution.

As we progress Infer.NET we may consider other building blocks and we are always interested to hear user needs.

John

Owner
  • fuhaoda replied on 03-28-2011 10:14 PM

1104.DistributionTable.pdf

Thanks John -

It will be extremely helpful if they are more distributions in this library.e.g. we have lots of data of time to event (survival data) where some extreme distribution like Weibull will be very helpful.