none
Sync SQL Server 2008 R2 with multiple client SQL 2008 R2 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am a developer and wanted to use the Sync framework for our application.

Here is my scenario:

I have a Server ( running SQL 2008 R2) and multiple clients ( remote machine running SQL 2008 R2). Some of the tables from the Db needs to be always synched. At startup Server and clients db is synched up ( not using the sync framework). When the clients can no longer talk to server. The client will modifying the local db ( add/ insert /update/ delete). Multiple client can potentially modify the same record. I can implement a time stamp column in all tables that can help me resolve the conflict or sync based on the time stamp value. All these client can start syncing the data in the background.I need a way to sync the delta at a regular interval.

I wanted to know if sync framework supports these scenario?

I need to know if there is any example that I can use it?

Do I need to cleanup the data after every successful sync to get only the delta for sync?

Wednesday, August 15, 2012 4:19 PM

All replies

• you will encounter issues if you pre-populate the databases outside of sync fx. if you prepopulate two databases for example, even though they may have the same data, sync fx has no idea about this since they were populated before sync fx was setup. so on first sync, you will run into conflicts as it tries to apply rows from one db to the other.

date or timestamps on the tables is not enough to enable change tracking and enumeration.

to save yourself some trouble, just follow the walkthrough in the documentation: Tutorial: Synchronizing SQL Server and SQL Express

that should work for sql server to sql server, sql server to sql express, express to azure or server to azure scenarios.

Thursday, August 16, 2012 10:27 AM
  • Hi ,

Thanks for the reply.