Off Topic: Lost driver RRS feed

• General discussion

• I have a fairly new computer (less than one year old) and it came set up with Vista.  Recently, I was using iTunes and tried to burn a CD only to receive an alert that the software was not found.  After several hours of reading/looking around (I am not an expert at fixing computers) I discovered a message in the device manager that said "Windows cannot download the device driver for this hardware.  The driver may be corrupted or missing (code 39)."  I tried using the update feature, but it said there was nothing to update.  Up until this incident there has been no problem with using the CD rom.  I can't find any answers through Microsoft.  They don't really discuss repairing drivers, only updating.  I read one thread in the Vista community and there was a website posted that suggested a possible fix, but the link was not functioning.

I don't know what to do next to try and fix this problem.

Please help.

Valerie
    Saturday, January 26, 2008 4:47 PM

All replies

• I have a fairly new computer (less than one year old) and it came set up with Vista.  Recently, I was using iTunes and tried to burn a CD only to receive an alert that the software was not found.  After several hours of reading/looking around (I am not an expert at fixing computers) I discovered a message in the device manager that said "Windows cannot download the device driver for this hardware.  The driver may be corrupted or missing (code 39)."  I tried using the update feature, but it said there was nothing to update.  Up until this incident there has been no problem with using the CD rom.  I can't find any answers through Microsoft.  They don't really discuss repairing drivers, only updating.  I read one thread in the Vista community and there was a website posted that suggested a possible fix, but the link was not functioning.

I don't know what to do next to try and fix this problem.

Please help.

Valerie