Streaming issues RRS feed

• Question

• Hello.

I'm new to WHS and so far I am fairly happy with it (as a beta). I am able to stream all videos from WHS to my DLNA equipped TV perfectly. I start having issues when I try to stream from the web interface (silverlight). Is this feature fully functional at this time? When I try to stream via the web interface it errors out saying that I possibly dont have a codec or some other issue. Pretty much all of my videos I encode with an MP4 container using H.264 codec. The files will play directly on the server itself so it must have the codec.

Any tips or info? 

Thanks

Wednesday, August 11, 2010 11:59 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Although VAIL preview does have support for MP4 containers and the H.264 codec, in my experience (the SilverLight client) does not play all container/codec configurations. Or maybe the audio codec or bit-rate in your MP4 videos is the problem? I cant say...

Maybe try (converting your Video's to) MPEG or WMA format to see if the SilverLight interface does work on these formats?

- Theo.

No home server like Home Server
    Thursday, August 12, 2010 9:48 PM

All replies

• Is the error displayed by the Silverlight player? If so, it's likely to be occurring on the client than the server.
    I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    Thursday, August 12, 2010 1:39 AM
  • The error does not state the originator but I do receive that error from all of my clients. My clients consist of a mix of Win 7 Ultimate and Premium. Silverlight works very well for the netflix streaming so I am unsure why streaming from WHS would be any different.

Thursday, August 12, 2010 2:53 AM
  • there aren't any mpeg2 or AC3 codec in the build for streaming from the
    interface

On Wed, 11 Aug 2010 23:59:19 +0000, bed1 wrote:

>
    >
    >Hello.
    >