Help and advice on Microsoft certification RRS feed

• Question

• Looking for some help and advice regarding Microsoft training.  I'm sort of stuck, so I'm looking for ideas on how to proceed.  My interests include Windows Server and ASP.NET.  But that's all I know for sure.

I was thinking of doing the t & c for MCITP Self-Paced Training Kit (Exams 70-640, 70-642, 70-643, 70-647): Windows Server® 2008 Enterprise Administrator Core Requirements.  There's a set of manuals on Amazon for this.  My questions are these:

- is there any problem with these now that Server 2008 R2 has been released?  any differences that I'll need to know?

- am I too late to the 2008 party or would I be better off waiting for the next release of Windows Server?

- (a bigger question) -- should I even bother with Server training?  Or will my knowledge be obsolete when everyone moves to the cloud?  :)

Then there's .NET training.  I have some web development background.  I just don't know what to do, so for many years I've done nothing.  I can't decide.

Sorry for the whining!  Can anyone offer advice?  Thank you so much!

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 6:31 PM

Answers

• Hi

Ok I will try to answer your questions.

1. The main core features of Windows 2008 are covered and I think there are some additions to the exam based on the R2 content but these questions are being phased in. Main concepts will still be on Windows 2008

2. Are you too late to the 2008 party. Not by a long shot. There are still people finishing their 2003 exams at the moment :D

3. People will still want and need to use onsite server software especially that virtualisation is becoming a more and more in demand skill. While it looks like everything is evaporating to the cloud, its only on a light flame (ok enough analogies!). Cloud takeup is still in the hype stage while moving slowly towards the demand side.