Drive failed, all folders were duplicated, but I can't access data RRS feed

• Question

• I've been using Windows Home Server PP2 for several months with great success, but I just had a drive failure that shook my confidence in the whole system.

I have duplication enabled on every shared folder, but when one of my drives failed I could no longer access a vast majority of the files in each folder.  Some were still accessible, however, and I was able to browse through the various directories just fine.  I just couldn't open/view/copy most of the files.  (These files happened to be all the photos and videos of our four month old, so my wife and I nearly suffered heart attacks.)

In the network health screen, WHS showed file conflicts in each of my shared folders.  Before the drive failure there were no file conflicts and network health was nice and green.

Shouldn't file duplication behave somewhat like RAID-1 when a drive fails and still let me open/copy/backup the secondary copy of the file?  If not, what did I gain by using file duplication?  I'd expect all sorts of network health warnings about the missing drive, but no interruption in access to my duplicated data.
    Wednesday, June 10, 2009 5:59 PM

Answers

• 1. I attempted to access the files using robocopy and plain old windows explorer from an XP box and a Vista box.  In both cases, many files would not open although I could browse the shared folders' directory trees.

2. I don't have it in front of me right now, but robocopy said something like the device is not ready and it couldn't read the file.

This is because it is trying to access the files that are on the missing drive.

3. I did not remove the hard drive from the console, but it was marked as missing.  Shouldn't WHS let me access the duplicate copy of the file in the event that one copy is on a missing drive?