Using POP 3 insted of Exchange Server for sending mails from CRM 3.0 RRS feed

• Question

• Dear Friends,
                      I'm a complete novice to MS CRM. During its installation I came across a small hurdle. My organization dos'nt have Exchange Server, so my question is,
    Can I use a POP 3(or anything else) for sending & receiving mails instead of Exchange Server from MS CRM 3.0.
    I read somewhere that it is possible but i don't know the steps of implementing the same.
    Can u guys provide me with some links or solution for implementing the same ?

Thanks in advance...
    Regards,
               Rohan
    Wednesday, April 23, 2008 3:06 PM

Answers

•  

The CRM 3 implementation guide should contain the information you need:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=1ff067f8-4f77-40f0-ae9c-68ada7d4f16a&DisplayLang=en

If you don't use Exchange then you won't be able to receive e-mails into the CRM 3.0 system at all. You will be able to send them via your SMTP server.

I suggest you consider upgrading to CRM 4.0 which has support for using POP3 accounts to receive e-mails. Search the Microsoft download site for "CRM 4 email" for relevant documentation.

www.microsoft.com/downloads

Monday, April 28, 2008 6:58 AM
  •  

1. Check the event log on the CRM server for any error messages.  Are you getting any errors anywhere else that may help indicate what the problem is?

2. Is your SMTP server configured to allow your CRM server to relay through it. You might need to add the IP address of your CRM server as an allowed server to the configuration of your SMTP server.

3. Does your SMTP require authentication? If so, then it looks like your SMTPAuthenticate registry should be set to another value. If not, then I don't see that SMTPSendUserName and SMTPSendPassword are required.

4. Are e-mails showing in the history of CRM records?

Tuesday, April 29, 2008 10:55 PM
  • Hye Friend,