none
DOMAIN NAME HOW-TO: Setting up WHS without using dynamic dns service? RRS feed

• Question

• All,
    Thanks in advance for the help. I'm new to WHS.  I already have my own domain name registered and hosted by a service provider (ZONEEDIT).  I do not need to subscribe to TMO or anyother dynamic DNS service.

Q:  How can I setup WHS (HP EX475) to use my own domain name and service provider?

Part Two:

Q: I already run a web server using port 80.  I want to setup WHS to use 8080 for public traffic and 80 for LAN traffic.  LAN traffic works fine OTB right now.  All I have to do is open a browser and type in the host name of the server (http://HPSERVER) and everything works fine. 

Here's what I did for public setup but its not working on the public side;  I setup port forwarding on my router, external 8080 to internal 80 at ip address 192.168.1.111 (HPSERVER's ip address of course).  I also forwarded ports 443 and 4125 to 192.168.1.111 as well.  I RDP into HPSERVER and ran IIS mgr and added port 8080 to the default website properties without a host header name, and another 8080 with host header name of  HPSERVER.MYDOMAINNAME.COM  using my real domain name naturally.

But when I attempt to access the server from the WAN I get no response.  Did I miss something?

Again, thanks for helping...

Tuesday, December 30, 2008 1:31 PM

Answers

• For your first question, you can't change Windows Home Server to check that a domain other than those supplied by TZO or Microsoft is working correctly. To set the domain itself up, consult ZoneEdit; you will want to point it to your WAN IP address. If your WAN IP address is dynamic, you will need their client software to have it automatically update.