SyncToy hangs at subfolder exclusion dialog RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm fairly new to SyncToy and have a little problem. When I try to open the subfolder exclusion dialog (i.e. "Select subfolder" at the advanced options), SyncToy keeps hanging at a certain folder (which is pretty small in size). Then SyncToy hogs memory like crazy and crashes when it reaches 400MB of RAM. I looked at the log but even with the verbose switch there's no error message in it. I even removed the folder that is causing this behavior without avail. SyncToy just hangs at a different one instead.
    Funny thing is that when I open the subfolder exclusion dialog on a completely different folder pair, everything works fine. I have no clue what is causing this. Any suggestions?
    I'm working on a fully patched Windows XP SP3 and using SyncToy 2.1 x86.
    Tuesday, March 2, 2010 1:36 PM

All replies

• could you please elabrate with more details ? you mentioned the folder is pretty small, how many files are there anyways ? are there any hidden files or system files ?

thanks
    Yunwen

This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
    Wednesday, March 3, 2010 6:40 PM
  • Sure. There is one file in it which is ~4MB plus another empty folder in this folder. The exact path is C:\Documents and Settings\User\Local Settings\Application data\Ubisoft\Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Chaos Theory. The folders "Local Settings" and "Application data" are hidden. When I delete this folder for testing purposes, SyncToy stalls at my Thunderbird profile folder.
    The whole folder in this folder pair setup is ~2.7GB big.

As I said, the weird thing is that with a completely different folder pair (the folder here is around 40GB with even deeper directory structure) the subfolder exclusion dialog works flawlessly.
    Wednesday, March 3, 2010 7:02 PM
  • Hi Mandrikor,