none
SyncToy 2.1 fails to install RRS feed

• Question

• I keep getting the following error message when I try to install the downloaded program files:

The following components were not installed:
    - Microsoft Sync Framework 2.0 Provider Services

The following components failed to install:
    - Microsoft Sync Framework 2.0 Core Components

I used to have the earlier version (the one prior to 2.0) which is no longer supported, and a massive system restore removed SyncToy from my program files.  I really liked SyncToy, but can't seem to find the 2.0 version to install, and I don't think I have the 1Ghz processor speed required for 2.1.  Any suggestions (besides getting a new computer...)? I am running Windows XP, with all service packs and updates recommended for SyncToy to run properly.  I recall having to run some updates for the earlier SyncToy to install properly, but this time around I'm really up against a wall. I am not a developer, just trying to figure out why I can't install 2.1, and why I can't find 2.0 to install.

Tuesday, January 5, 2010 11:52 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hi -

SyncToy 2.0 and 2.1 have pretty much the same system requirements. So that should not be blocking you. You should have .net framework 2.0 installed as a prequisite. THe problem here seems to be that the Microsost Sync Framework 2.0 Core Components is not installing. Take a look at the Event Log on the system and seeing if there is any extra information as to why this is not being installed.
    Thanks
    Deepa
    Deepa ( Microsoft Sync Framework)
    Wednesday, January 6, 2010 1:38 AM
  • I have a very similar problem, the message I get is...

Prerequisite check for system component Microsoft Sync Framework 2.0 Core Components failed with the following error message:
    "Microsoft Sync Framework 2.0 Core Components requires Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0. Contact your application vendor."