MS CRM - Opening forms without providing the user-id / password RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I'm pretty new to MS-CRM and have been trying to pop open various forms.

Everytime I open a form (for eg., http://<server name>/SFA/accts/edit.aspx?id=<object id> ) on IE via code, I'm asked to enter my user-id and password before I can use that form.
    Is there some way in which I can, maybe, "pre-authenticate" a URL, so that a user doesn't have to keep entering his/her id and password everytime he/she tries to open a form.

Thanks in advance
    Thursday, September 18, 2008 2:33 PM

Answers

• Hey Star,

The default behaviour of I.E is such that it should authenticate correctly if the user has been authenticated to the same domain in which the MSCRM server is installed. At times if you access the server via an ip address or if the server is in a trusted domain you will need to modify I.E to include this site in the list on intranet sites, but usually this is a problem with the infrastracture where MSCRM has been installed. For example you don't want to have to modify I.E's settings everytime a new person joins the company. Some of these values may also be dependant on the group policy implemented at the DC.

Anyway, if you have not authenticated to a domain as a user you will at some point need to authenticate. This is usually the first time you log into the web site. With AD this is done when you initially log into the domain, however my machine sits outside the domain. Even so as I have a user in AD with exactly the same name and password as what I use to log into Vista with, it actually accepts it. Usually however you have to specify the domain + account name.

Cheers,

Karlo
    Tuesday, September 23, 2008 5:45 PM

All replies

• Check your Internet Explorer Setings to see if you have selected "Ask for password everytime<blah>" option.Uncheck it, if true.

Thursday, September 18, 2008 4:05 PM