MS Money 2005 UK stopped opening in Windows 10 RRS feed

• Question

• I've been using Microsoft Money UK 2005 for over 10 years without any problems on Windows 10. My laptop recently did a Windows update to v1803 and I haven't been able to start MS Money since then. If I click on the Money icon, I get the Windows spinning blue circle for a few seconds, and then goes back to idle without launching MS Money. If I double click the icon, a popup appears with 'Money is already running', but it doesn't launch and there is no MS Money process in task manager.

I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling Money, tried updating the mnyob99.dll file etc., but nothing seems to work. I don't think it is the Windows version itself that is to blame as I can run MS Money fine on another PC with the same version.  However, during the update, MS Money was open and Windows must have tried to shut it down automatically - is it possible that this has left some file or settings locked so MS Money now fails to open?

Friday, June 7, 2019 11:03 PM

Answers

• To provide an update on the problem that I was having (couldn't run MS Money 2005 after a Windows Update), I tried most of the solutions suggested on this page and on another website without any success. At this point, I'd reconciled myself to not having a solution and moved on to using MS Money from another PC (not ideal, but at least it worked there). This has been the situation for the last 4-5 months.

Then, a couple of days ago, my PC did another major Windows update to v1903 (took about 6-7 hours to upgrade) and then, lo and behold, MS Money was working again. I didn't touch anything else, so I'm pretty sure it was the update that fixed it. Still think something was locked under the old version which caused the issue but, whatever it was, this has made my day!

Thanks for everyone's help (particularly Cal Learner and SC489) with this.
    Monday, October 28, 2019 7:10 PM

All replies